Highlanders named for final home fixture ">

Highlanders name side to play the Waratahs

19 May 2022

All games are crucial but at the business end of any competition there always seems to be more riding on results. The Highlanders are currently sitting in 8th and the final play-off spot, with just two more rounds to go, but will know that if they are to keep destiny in their own hands at least one or more victory is probably required.

The Waratahs present a formidable challenge on Sunday. Currently sitting in 6th (and just three points outside the top four) they will have everything to play for, knowing a loss will likely see them lose the opportunity to host a home semi-final.

Head Coach, Tony Brown, has not departed too much from the team that ran up 61 points against the Western Force last Friday.

The only three changes in the forwards are rests for Ethan de Groot who is replaced by last week’s Super Rugby centurion Daniel Lienert-Brown and the hard-working Bryn Evans which sees Sam Caird, who was a Waratah himself last season, come into the second row. Liam Coltman returns from injury to start at hooker sending Andrew Makalio to the reserves bench where he will be joined by young Tasman prop, Luca Inch, who will be making his Super Rugby debut from the pine. It’s a real Tasman flavour to the reserves bench with six of the eight having played provincial rugby for the Mako.

In the backs, the only change has Denny Solomona returning from his hamstring injury to start on the right wing in place of Fetuli Paea.

Highlander #175 Aaron Smith will be playing his 175th match for the club.


Highlanders v Waratahs – 3.35pm, Sunday 22 May, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

1. Daniel Lienert-Brown

2. Liam Coltman

3. Jermaine Ainsley

4. Sam Caird

5. Josh Dickson*

6. James Lentjes (cc)

7. Billy Harmon

8. Marino Mikaele-Tu’u

9. Aaron Smith (cc)

10. Sam Gilbert

11. Scott Gregory

12. Thomas Umaga-Jensen

13. Josh Timu

14. Denny Solomona

15. Connor Garden Bachop



16. Andrew Makalio

17. Luca Inch**

18. Saula Mau

19. Max Hicks

20. Hugh Renton

21. Folau Fakatava

22. Marty Banks

23. Fetuli Paea


*50th Highlanders Game




Don't miss a pass... Stay in the loop for all Highlanders news and announcements!