Only minor changes to the starting team this week for the Gordon Hunter Memorial Trophy match against the Blues.

All Black, Jackson Hemopo, returns at lock to partner Tom Franklin and Patelesio Tomkinson takes the place of Rob Thompson (unavailable for family reasons this week).

However, the return of Aaron Smith and Luke Whitelock gives the reserves a very strong look. Smith who injured his ankle in the round six game, ironically against the Blues, was originally scheduled to be out for 4-6 weeks but has missed just two games during his speedy recovery.

“Nuggy and Luke have both worked incredibly hard to make themselves available and their return this week provides the team with a bit of a boost. We are aware of the challenges the Blues will bring on Saturday, all the NZ conference games bring a high degree of intensity” said Head Coach, Aaron Mauger.

The Highlanders have retained the Gordon Hunter Memorial Trophy since 2012, the trophy is only contestable when the game is being played at the home ground of the previous year’s winner.

Pulse Energy Highlanders v Blues – 7.35pm, Saturday 20th April, Forsyth Barr Stadium

  1. Daniel Lienert-Brown
  2. Liam Coltman
  3. Tyrel Lomax
  4. Jackson Hemopo
  5. Tom Franklin
  6. Shannon Frizell
  7. James Lentjes
  8. Elliot Dixon
  9. Kayne Hammington
  10. Josh Ioane
  11. Tevita Li
  12. Teihorangi Walden
  13. Patelesio Tomkinson
  14. Matt Faddes
  15. Ben Smith (CC)


  1. Ash Dixon
  2. Ayden Johnstone
  3. Siate Tokolahi
  4. Josh Dickson
  5. Luke Whitelock (CC)
  6. Aaron Smith
  7. Bryn Gatland
  8. Thomas Umaga-Jensen


Unavailable due to injury: Liam Squire (knee), Marty Banks (foot), Waisake Naholo (knee)

T.Nabura & R.Buckman out for season



SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min