The Southern Kings have replaced the Lions as the fifth South African Super Rugby team in 2013. The team was formed in June 2009, in time to coincide with the 2009 British and Irish Lions tour to South Africa.

The Kings' catchment area is made up of the Eastern Cape, and parts of the Western Cape. They will draw players from 3 provincial unions, namely the Eastern Province Kings, based in Port Elizabeth (representing the southern half of the Eastern Cape), the Border Bulldogs, based in East London (representing the northern half of the Eastern Cape) and the SWD Eagles, based in George (representing the South Western Districts).

Having lost the promotion/relegation play-off to the Lions, the Kings missed out on Super Rugby in 2014. They have also agreed to sit out the 2015 season by withdrawing from the proposed promotion/relegation match at the end of 2014. In exchange, the Eastern Province Kings were guaranteed participation in the 2014 and 2015 Currie Cup competitions, intended to aid the team's preparation for a return to Super Rugby in 2016.


2013: Matt Sexton
2016: Deon Davids


2013: Luke Watson
2016: Steven Sykes

SKY-SuperRugbyAotearoa-Positive-1.png logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago Coresteel Blis Smith City Adidas Logo Small min