Highlanders Schools Camp Squad Announced ">

Highlanders Schools Camp Squad Announced

27 September 2021

The next generation of schoolboy rugby talent will have an opportunity to improve their game during the October school holidays. The Highlanders Schools Camp will be held from Sunday 10th to Wednesday 13th and will involve 30 of the regions best schoolboy players.

Coaches from within the Highlanders Region will work with the young players over the four days and cover technical and tactical aspects of the game as well as delivering content on the nutritional, physical and mental elements of performance. The week will culminate on Friday in a match against a Crusaders Junior XV in Timaru at 12.30pm.

The camp has been running for 10 years and has produced players the calibre of Josh Renton, Patelesio Tomkinson, Josh Dickson, James Arscott and Sean Withy to name a few. 

Camp Convenor and Highlanders Talent Development Manager Kane Jury said “it's always a difficult task identifying, amongst so many talented players, who attends the camp. We tend to prioritise those players that are year 13, as it is their last chance to attend, but we also know there are many exceptional year 12 players in our region as well and hopefully as many of the best players in our region get their opportunity at some point”.

Camp Attendees:

Joe Cockburn (Dunstan HS)

Jacob Mika (James Hargest)

Josh Whaanga (John McGlashan College)

Mitch Morton (John McGlashan College)

Jay Davis (Kings High School)

Mahonri Auva’a (Kings High School)

Steve Salelea (Kings High School)

Asesela Ravuvu (St.Kevins College)

Lotu Fifita (Waitaki Boys High School)

Aaron Withy (Southland Boys High School)

Hunter Areaiti-Burgess (Southland Boys High School)

Jack Taylor (Southland Boys High School)

Jackson Bevin (Southland Boys High School)

Kaea Nikora-Balloch (Southland Boys High School)

Liam McIntosh (Southland Boys High School)

Richie Kuresa (Southland Boys High School)

Tom Nicholson (Southland Boys High School)

Alex McLachlan (Otago Boys High School)

Filipo Whitehouse-Opetaia Tovio (Otago Boys High School)

Okusotino Peleki Tangifolau (Otago Boys High School)

Oscar Anderson (Otago Boys High School)

Semisi Tupou-Taeiloa (Otago Boys High School)

Cruz Wallace (Otago Boys High School)

Finn Hurley  (Otago Boys High School)

Hopoate Finau (Otago Boys High School)

Mikaele Vaeau (Otago Boys High School)

Moana Takataka (Otago Boys High School)

Petelo Amato (Otago Boys High School)

Reuben Bouman (Otago Boys High School)

Ronan Dynes (Otago Boys High School)


Players on standby:

Keegan Ferguson, Thomas Larrivee, Ryan Johnston, Kaleb Hill (John McGlashan College) Fatai Kolai (Kings High School) Lachy Moore (Mt. Aspiring College) Aaron Morrison (Otago Boys High School) Billy Andrew, Caleb Williams (Southland Boys High School)




Don't miss a pass... Stay in the loop for all Highlanders news and announcements!