ASB Award Nominations ">

Highlanders pair nominated at ASB Rugby Awards

2 December 2021

New Zealand Rugby’s (NZR) top performers of 2021 will be recognised in an ASB Rugby Awards TV event, with nominees announced today.

Both Aaron Smith and Ash Dixon have been nominated for the prestigious Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year, alongside one of the world’s leading Sevens players and Black Ferns Sevens Captain, Sarah Hirini.

Our standout halfback has also been recognised for his performances in a Highlanders jersey this season. He will line up against Blues’ loose forward Dalton Papalii and Crusaders first five-eighth Richie Mo'unga for the Sky Super Rugby Player of the Year.

During the season, Aaron overtook Ben Smith as the most capped Highlander of all-time notching up a total of 163 matches since his debut in 2011.

The ASB Rugby Awards will air on Sky Sport 1 on Wednesday 15 December at 8.00 pm.



Don't miss a pass... Stay in the loop for all Highlanders news and announcements!