Seven All Blacks and a 50th game milestone are the significant features of the team named by Head Coach Jamie Joseph. Returning to the team are All Blacks Elliot Dixon, Aaron and Ben Smith, Malakai Fekitoa and Waisake Naholo. Patrick Osborne will play his 50th Super rugby game.

Apart from Dixon, Joseph has bought in Joe Wheeler, Siosuia Halanukonuka and James Lentjes to freshen the forward pack for what is expected to be a tough forward battle against a Pumas laden Jaguares.

“The Jaguares forwards were very good against the Bulls in wet conditions last week so we are anticipating a big game up front” said Joseph.

Aaron Smith will be a welcome return at halfback and will have a key role in directing the team around the field while Captain Ben Smith will be a threat to the Jaguares defence from the back. The return of Fekitoa and Naholo will provide plenty of speed and power to the Highlanders out wide.

Jaguares v Pulse Energy Highlanders ,Estadio Jose Amalfitani, Buenos Aires, Sat 8th July 6.40pm

1.   Josh Hohneck

2.   Ash Dixon

3.   Siosuia Halanukonuka

4.   Tom Franklin

5.   Joe Wheeler

6.   Elliot Dixon

7.   James Lentjes

8.   Luke Whitelock

9.   Aaron Smith

10. Lima Sopoaga

11. Patrick Osborne

12. Rob Thompson

13. Malakai Fekitoa

14. Waisake Naholo

15. Ben Smith (C)



16. Greg Pleasants-Tate

17. Aki Seiuli

18. Ross Geldenhuys

19. Mark Reddish

20. Dan Pryor

21. Te Aihe Toma

22. Fletcher Smith

23. Matt Faddes

 Head Coach: Jamie Joseph Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod Manager: Paul McLaughlan

Unavailable due to injury: Liam Coltman (foot), Alex Ainley (calf),Daniel Lienert-Brown (Leg),Liam Squire (concussion), Shane Christie


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min