Jamie Joseph has named a squad of 30 to take on the Crusaders in Oamaru, with nine players on international duty the squad features a number of replacement provincial players. At halfback, Te Aihe Toma (Bay of Plenty) and Jamie Booth (Manawatu) will make their debuts for the Highlanders as Joseph looks to build depth to replace Aaron Smith and Fumiaki Tanaka.  Hame Faiva (Waikato) is included for an injured Liam Coltman while Otago midfielders Michael Collins and Faasiu Fuatai provide cover in the midfield.

The game is an important part of the build up for the team as they look to get ready for their road trip to South Africa and Argentina. A squad of 26 players will depart on Saturday morning to prepare to take on the Kings in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

Pulse Energy Highlanders v Crusaders – Whitestone Contracting Stadium, Oamaru, Thursday 23rd June 3.05pm

1.   Aki Seiuli

2.   Greg Pleasants-Tate

3.   Josh Hohneck

4.   Mark Reddish

5.   Joe Wheeler

6.   Gareth Evans

7.   Shane Christie (C)

8.   Luke Whitelock

9.   Te Aihe Toma

10. Marty Banks

11. Ryan Tongia

12. Rob Thompson

13. Jason Emery

14. Jack Wilson

15. Matt Faddes


Ash Dixon,  Daniel Lienert-Brown,  Ross Geldenhuys,  James Lentjes, Dan Pryor,  Jamie Booth,  Fletcher Smith, Teihorangi Walden, Michael Collins, Faasiu Fuatai, Hame Faiva, Tom Franklin, Siosiua Halanukonuka, Jackson Hemopo, Craig Millar


Head Coach: Jamie Joseph Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod Manager: Paul McLaughlan

Unavailable due to injury: Liam Coltman (foot), Alex Ainley (calf)

Unavailable due to International Commitments: Ben Smith, Aaron Smith, Malakai Fekitoa, Waisake Naholo, Liam Squire, Elliot Dixon, Lima Sopoaga (All Blacks), Fumikai Tanaka (Japan). Patrick Osborne (Fiji)


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min