Saturday’s semi-final will see the Highlanders’ field an almost identical starting fifteen to the side that beat the Chiefs last Saturday in an encounter of epic proportions. The only change - openside flanker James Lentjes replaces the injured Dan Pryor. Lentjes was called in for injuries earlier in the season and has showed a lot of promise in his  four games to date.

The team also welcomes back experienced lock Joe Wheeler from a lengthy injury break to take his place on the bench alongside Trent Renata. Renata replaces the versatile Marty Banks who took a head knock during the week and while working through the concussion protocols is unavailable for action this week.

The team will again be captained by the experienced duo of Ben Smith and Nasi Manu who will be playing their 104th and 80th game respectively.

 Waratahs v Highlanders, Allianz Stadium, Sydney - Saturday 27th June, 7.55pm AEST (9.55pm NZST)

1.   Brendon Edmonds

2.   Liam Coltman

3.   Josh Hohneck

4.   Alex Ainley

5.   Mark Reddish

6.   Elliot Dixon

7.   James Lentjes

8.   Nasi Manu (co-Captain)

9.   Aaron Smith

10. Lima Sopoaga

11. Patrick Osborne

12. Richard Buckman

13. Malakai Fekitoa

14. Waisake Naholo

15. Ben Smith (co-Captain)



16. Ash Dixon

17. Daniel Lienert-Brown

18. Ross Geldenhuys

19. Joe Wheeler

20. Gareth Evans

21. Fumiaki Tanaka

22. Trent Renata

23. Shaun Treeby

Unavailable:  Dan Pryor (elbow), Kane Hames (knee) John Hardie (rib) Marty Banks (concussion)

Head Coach: Jamie Joseph Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod Manager: Paul McLaughlan


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min