CRU small

After a first round bye Highlanders’ coach Jamie Joseph has named his team for the big South Island clash against the Crusaders on Saturday night in Dunedin. As with last season the team will be co-captained by Nasi Manu and Ben Smith. Joseph has selected from a near fully fit squad with just Shane Christie (hamstring), Richard Buckman (knee) and Pingi Tala’apitaga (knee) unavailable due to injury. There are 7 players set to make their Highlander debuts including Josh Hohneck, Ross Geldenhuys and Waisake Naholo in the starting lineup.

This game is set to be a thriller as the Highlanders will look to right the wrongs of 2014 after losing to the Crusaders in the dying minutes as a try in the corner was disallowed by the TMO. 

Highlanders v Crusaders, Forsyth Barr, Dunedin – Saturday 21st Febraury 7.35pm (NZT)

1. Josh Hohneck
2. Liam Coltman
3. Ross Geldenhuys
4. Tom Franklin
5. Joe Wheeler
6. Elliot Dixon
7. John Hardie
8. Nasi Manu (c)
9. Aaron Smith
10. Lima Sopoaga
11. Patrick Osborne
12. Shaun Treeby
13. Malakai Fekitoa
14. Waisake Naholo
15. Ben Smith (c)
16. Ash Dixon
17. Kane Hames
18. Ma’afu Fia
19. Mark Reddish
20. Dan Pryor
21. Fumiaki Tanaka
22. Jason Emery
23. Marty Banks

Head Coach: Jamie Joseph
Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod
Team Manager: Paul McLaughlan


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min