Highlanders’ Head Coach, Jamie Joseph, has named his team to take on the current Investec Super Rugby leaders, the Waratahs, at home in Sydney on Sunday afternoon (4.05pm AT, 6.05pm NZT). The team is unchanged from the side that won against the Chiefs (29-25) in an exhilarating game at Forsyth Barr Stadium last Friday.

With only two games to go in the regular season the Highlanders currently sit fourth overall on the SANZAR table with the same points as the Crusaders in third (42).

Head Coach, Jamie Joseph commented that “we are not too concerned with how we have gone against the Waratahs in the past and our entire focus is on what we can do on Sunday. There is a real air of excitement about the group, they sense the opportunity we have earned for ourselves”.

Highlanders v Waratahs, Allianz Stadium, Sydney– Sunday 6th July, 4.05pm local time (6.05pm NZT)

1 - Kane Hames
2 - Brayden Mitchell
3 - Ma’afu Fia
4 - Tom Franklin
5 - Joe Wheeler
6 - Elliot Dixon
7 - Shane Christie
8 - Nasi Manu (co-captain)
9 - Aaron Smith
10 - Lima Sopoaga
11 - Patrick Osborne
12 - Shaun Treeby
13 - Malakai Fekitoa
14 - Richard Buckman
15 - Ben Smith (co-captain)

16 – Ged Robinson
17 – Matias Diaz
18 – Chris King
19 – Josh Bekhuis
20 – Lee Allan
21 – Fumiaki Tanaka
22 – Hayden Parker
23 – Phil Burleigh

Head Coach – Jamie Joseph

Assistant Coaches – Tony Brown and Scott McLeod  

Skills Coach – Jon Preston

Manager – Graham Purvis

Injury update: Kurt Baker – hamstring (season), Craig Millar – shoulder (season), Buxton Popoalii – heart (season), Brad Thorn – bicep (season), Frae Wilson – knee (season) and John Hardie – knee (season).


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min