Pulse Energy Highlanders Head Coach Jamie Joseph has refreshed the forward pack for Saturday night’s game against the Lions. Josh Hohneck and Tom Franklin get a break fron the starting 23 while Shane Christie and Elliot Dixon move to the bench. Siosiua Halnukonuka will get his first start while Alex Ainley replaces Franklin in the middle row.Luke Whitelock moves from number eight to blindside flanker making way for Liam Squire at the back of the scrum. Dan Pryor will start at openside giving the pack a great deal of mobility in what is expected to be a fast paced game.

In the backs hard running midfielder Rob Thompson will make his debut for the Highlanders at second-five and Jason Emery, who performed well last week, will again look to make impact from the bench. Ben Smith will captain the side.

Pulse Energy Highlanders v Emirates Lions, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Sat Mar 12th 7.35pm

1.   Brendon Edmonds

2.   Liam Coltman

3.   Siosiua Halanukonuka

4.   Alex Ainley

5.   Joe Wheeler

6.   Luke Whitelock

7.   Dan Pryor

8.   Liam Squire

9.   Aaron Smith

10. Lima Sopoaga

11. Patrick Osborne

12. Rob Thompson

13. Malakai Fekitoa

14. Matt Faddes

15. Ben Smith ( c )


16. Ash Dixon

17. Daniel Lienert-Brown

18. Ross Geldenhuys

19. Elliot Dixon

20. Shane Christie

21. Josh Renton

22. Hayden Parker

23. Jason Emery

Unavailable due to injury: Waisake Naholo (leg), Marty Banks (knee), Fumiaki Tanaka (calf), Tei Walden (concussion)

Head Coach: Jamie Joseph

Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod

Team Manager: Paul McLaughlan


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min