Shannon Frizell returns from his All Blacks’ break to take his place at number eight for the Pulse Energy Highlanders against the Lions on Saturday (1.05am Sunday morning NZT).

Elliot Dixon gets a well-earned break and Dillon Hunt completes a new look backrow with James Lentjes heading to the bench. Josh Dickson and Tom Franklin will lock the scrum and Tyrel Lomax replaces Siate Tokolahi at tighthead.

In the backs, Waisake Naholo, returns from a lengthy injury break and will ease into the action off the bench. Teihorangi Walden will partner with Rob Thompson in the midfield and Patelesio Tomkinson will move to the wing to cover for the injured Tevita Li. Daniel Hollinshead will again cover the pivot position.

Pulse Energy Highlanders v Lions – 3.05pm Saturday 18th May, Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg (1.05am Sunday NZT)

  1. Ayden Johnstone
  2. Liam Coltman
  3. Tyrel Lomax
  4. Josh Dickson
  5. Tom Franklin
  6. Luke Whitelock (c)
  7. Dillon Hunt
  8. Shannon Frizell
  9. Aaron Smith
  10. Josh Ioane
  11. Patelesio Tomkinson
  12. Teihorangi Walden
  13. Rob Thompson
  14. Jordan Hyland
  15. Matt Faddes


  1. Ash Dixon
  2. Daniel Lienert-Brown
  3. Siate Tokolahi
  4. Jack Whetton
  5. James Lentjes
  6. Kayne Hammington
  7. Daniel Hollinshead
  8. Waisake Naholo


Unavailable due to injury: Marty Banks (foot), Ben Smith (hamstring), Tevita Li (hamstring), Jackson Hemopo (ankle)

Season ending injuries: Tevita Nabura (knee), Richard Buckman (achilles), Bryn Gatland (foot)


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min