“It’s good to welcome Ben and Liam back because as we all know the NZ derby matches are incredibly intense games , you have to be at your very best to come away with the win. Being at home this time in front of our fans, on a dry track, will hopefully help us put on a big performance.” said Brown.

The Gordon Hunter Memorial trophy has been played for between the two teams since 2002. Hunter coached Otago from 1992 to1995 and the Highlanders in the inaugural year of Super Rugby in 1996. He then went on to be a selector and assistant coach of the All Blacks from 1996 to 1999 before becoming the head coach of the Blues in 2000.

Pulse Energy Highlanders v Blues - 7.35pm, Saturday 8th April, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

  1. Daniel Lienert-Brown
  2. Liam Coltman
  3. Siosuia Halanukonuka
  4. Alex Ainley
  5. Tom Franklin
  6. Elliot Dixon
  7. Dillon Hunt
  8. Luke Whitelock
  9. Aaron Smith
  10. Marty Banks
  11. Patrick Osborne
  12. Richard Buckman
  13. Malakai Fekitoa
  14. Tevita Li
  15. Ben Smith ( c )


  1. Greg Pleasants-Tate
  2. Aki Seiuli
  3. Siate Tokolahi
  4. Joe Wheeler
  5. Liam Squire
  6. Kayne Hammington
  7. Fletcher Smith
  8. Matt Faddes

Unavailable due to injury: Shane Christie, Ash Dixon, Dan Pryor, Lima Sopoaga, Waisake Naholo,  Adrian Smith, James Lentjes (out for the season: Jason Emery, Hayden Parker).


SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min