Aaron Smith and Ben Smith return to the Pulse Energy Highlanders for the New Zealand Conference derby against the Hurricanes.

Co-captain, Luke Whitelock, will play at number eight after a break last week and James Lentjes retains the number 7 shirt while the physical, Pari Pari Parkinson, will again combine with Josh Dickson in the middle row.

Josh Ioane continues at first-five after a promising start to the competition and alongside him will be a new midfield combination of Thomas Umaga-Jensen and Patelesio Tomkinson, both players combine power with pace, and Richard Buckman will earn his first start of the season on the right wing.

Head Coach, Aaron Mauger, is aware of the challenge the Hurricanes will bring “we are aware of the threats the Hurricanes present for us, our focus is on converting the opportunities we are creating into points”.

Pulse Energy Highlanders v Hurricanes – 7.35pm, Friday 8th March, Westpac Stadium, Wellington

  1. Ayden Johnstone
  2. Liam Coltman
  3. Tyrel Lomax
  4. Pari Pari Parkinson
  5. Josh Dickson
  6. Jackson Hemopo
  7. James Lentjes
  8. Luke Whitelock (cc)
  9. Aaron Smith
  10. Josh Ioane
  11. Tevita Li
  12. Thomas Umaga-Jensen
  13. Patelesio Tomkinson
  14. Richard Buckman
  15. Ben Smith (cc)


  1. Ash Dixon
  2. Daniel Lienert-Brown
  3. Josh Iosefa-Scott
  4. Tom Franklin
  5. Elliot Dixon
  6. Kayne Hammington
  7. Marty Banks
  8. Waisake Naholo

Unavailable due to injury: Tevita Nabura – knee (season), Liam Squire (hip), Rob Thompson (ankle)



SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min