Photo Credit: Getty Images 

After an exciting win in Hamilton last weekend the Highlanders have made a few changes to the starting XV for their round five clash against defending champions, NSW Waratahs. Elliot Dixon moves to six, after a strong game last week, to make way for Shane Christie who will be making his 2015 Super Rugby debut after recieving a knee injury in the final of the ITM Cup last year. Tom Franklin comes back into the starting lineup after impressing off the bench and a reshuffle in the front row sees Ross Geldenhuys start while Pingi Tala’apitaga moves on to the bench to cover for Ma’afu Fia who received a knee injury during last week’s game.  

The backline is unchanged for both the starting team and the reserves.

Highlanders v NSW Waratahs, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin – Saturday 14th March, 7.35pm (NZT)

1.   Josh Hohneck

2.   Liam Coltman

3.   Ross Geldenhuys

4.   Tom Franklin

5.   Joe Wheeler

6.   Elliot Dixon

7.   Shane Christie

8.   Nasi Manu (c)

9.   Aaron Smith

10. Lima Sopoaga

11. Patrick Osborne

12. Shaun Treeby

13. Malakai Fekitoa

14. Waisake Naholo

15. Ben Smith (c)



16. Ash Dixon

17. Brendon Edmonds

18. Pingi Tala’apitaga

19. Mark Reddish

20. John Hardie

21. Fumiaki Tanaka

22. Marty Banks

23. Jason Emery


Unavailable: Richard Buckman (knee), Ma’afu Fia (knee), Dan Pryor (concussion), Kane Hames (suspended)


Head Coach: Jamie Joseph

Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod

Manager: Paul McLaughlan



SupeRugby logo header speights min 2 Degrees logo v2 University of Otago logo Swanndri  Coresteel Blis placemakers new logo banner 104 Adidas Logo Small min