Photo credit: Chris Sullivan, Seen In Dunedin (Highlanders v Crusaders, Saturday 21st Febraury)


Jamie Joseph has named his team for this Friday’s clash against the St George Queensland Reds. The line-up includes several changes from their second round loss to the Crusaders; prop, Brendon Edmonds, will make his debut for the Highlanders with Josh Hohneck moving to the bench and Liam Coltman and Joe Wheeler make way for Ash Dixon and Mark Reddish in the starting XV. In the backs Marty Banks will make his playing debut coming in at first-five for Lima Sopoaga who is unavailable for this match due to family reasons. Hayden Parker and Kurt Baker are also named in the starting 23 for the first time this season.

Highlanders v Reds, Friday 27th February 7.35pm, Forsyth Barr Stadium Dunedin

1.     Brendon Edmonds

2.     Ash Dixon

3.     Ross Geldenhuys

4.     Tom Franklin

5.     Mark Reddish

6.     Elliot Dixon

7.     John Hardie

8.     Nasi Manu (co-Captain)

9.     Aaron Smith

10.   Marty Banks

11.   Patrick Osborne

12.   Jason Emery

13.   Malakai Fekitoa

14.   Waisake Naholo

15.   Ben Smith (co-Captain)



16.   Liam Coltman

17.   Josh Hohneck

18.   Ma'afu Fia

19.   Joe Wheeler

20.   Dan Pryor

21.   Fumiaki Tanaka

22.   Hayden Parker

23.   Kurt Baker


Unavailable for selection: Pingi Tala’apitaga (knee), Shane Christie (knee), Richard Buckman (knee), Kane Hames (suspended)


Head Coach: Jamie Joseph

Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod

Manager: Paul McLaughlan



UO TD Tile

University of Otago Alumni Highlanders Club

The University of Otago has nurtured some of the best rugby talent around, from Highlanders and Otago players to Maori All Blacks, Black Ferns and All Blacks. 

Join us to celebrate the old and the new! 

$60 a year gives you: 
o A special University of Otago Alumni Highlanders Membership Card 
o An exclusive video message from a coach on the day of the game, based around game plan. 
o Exclusive video content post-match from a player on the game, based around match review. 
o Exclusive invitations to pre-match hospitality events at away games in New Zealand and Australia. 
o Exclusive invitations to meet the team events at away games in New Zealand and Australia. 
o All official Highlanders media releases prior to public release. 
o 20% discount on tickets to all Highlanders home games in Dunedin (tickets must be purchased at the stadium or other Ticket Direct outlet). 

By signing up you will enable the Highlanders to retain and attract players for the upcoming seasons, AND $5 from every membership will be donated to the University of Otago Rugby Club Foundation for their Scholarship Fund.



CRU small

After a first round bye Highlanders’ coach Jamie Joseph has named his team for the big South Island clash against the Crusaders on Saturday night in Dunedin. As with last season the team will be co-captained by Nasi Manu and Ben Smith. Joseph has selected from a near fully fit squad with just Shane Christie (hamstring), Richard Buckman (knee) and Pingi Tala’apitaga (knee) unavailable due to injury. There are 7 players set to make their Highlander debuts including Josh Hohneck, Ross Geldenhuys and Waisake Naholo in the starting lineup.

This game is set to be a thriller as the Highlanders will look to right the wrongs of 2014 after losing to the Crusaders in the dying minutes as a try in the corner was disallowed by the TMO. 

Highlanders v Crusaders, Forsyth Barr, Dunedin – Saturday 21st Febraury 7.35pm (NZT)

1. Josh Hohneck
2. Liam Coltman
3. Ross Geldenhuys
4. Tom Franklin
5. Joe Wheeler
6. Elliot Dixon
7. John Hardie
8. Nasi Manu (c)
9. Aaron Smith
10. Lima Sopoaga
11. Patrick Osborne
12. Shaun Treeby
13. Malakai Fekitoa
14. Waisake Naholo
15. Ben Smith (c)
16. Ash Dixon
17. Kane Hames
18. Ma’afu Fia
19. Mark Reddish
20. Dan Pryor
21. Fumiaki Tanaka
22. Jason Emery
23. Marty Banks

Head Coach: Jamie Joseph
Assistant Coaches: Tony Brown, Scott McLeod
Team Manager: Paul McLaughlan


Shane Christie will captain the Highlanders' as they complete their two match preseason tour of Australia, and final 2015 pre-season game, against the Rebels tomorrow night at Ashwood Reserve, Melbourne. The team will be looking for their third win during the pre-season window and will again employ a squad of 28 for the match. Kick-off at 6.30pm (8.30pm NZT).

Fumiaka Tanaka will rejoin the Highlanders for his first pre-season game after meeting the team in Melbourne on his way back to New Zealand following the completion of the Japanese National Competition. 

1. Kane Hames
2. Ash Dixon
3. Ross Geldenhuys
4. Mark Reddish
5. Tom Franklin
6. Dan Pryor
7. Shane Christie (C)
8. Elliot Dixon
9. Josh Renton
10. Lima Sopoaga
11. Patrick Osborne
12. Jason Emery
13. Teihorangi Walden
14. Waisake Naholo
15. Kurt Baker


16. Brendon Edmonds
17. Liam Coltman
18. Pingi Ta'alapitaga
19. Joe Wheeler
20. Alex Ainley
21. Gareth Evans
22. John Hardie
23. Nasi Manu
24. Fumiaka Tanaka
25. Marty Banks
26. Michael Collins
27. Ryan Tongia
28. Trent Renata


Coach Jamie Joseph has named a 28 man squad to take on the Brumbies in Wagga Wagga on Saturday night (7.00pm local time). The squad features most of the players who didn't take the field during last week’s first pre-season win against the Crusaders in Timaru. Only the injured Richard Buckman, Ash Dixon and Marty Banks are yet to play and are in the party travelling to Australia. Following the game in Wagga Wagga the team will travel to Melbourne for their final pre-season game against the Melbourne Rebels on Thursday 5th of February.  Internationals Ben Smith, Aaron Smith, Malaki Fekitoa and Fumiaki Tanaka are unavailable at this stage.

1. Brendon Edmonds

2. Liam Coltman
3. Ma’afu Fia
4. Alex Ainley
5. Joe Wheeler
6. Gareth Evans
7. Shane Christie
8. Nasi Manu (C)
9. Scott Eade
10. Hayden Parker
11. Waisake Naholo
12. Jason Emery
13. Shaun Treeby
14. Patrick Osborne
15. Trent Renata


16. Sam Anderson-Heather
17. Josh Hohneck
18. Ross Geldenhuys
19. Mark Reddish
20. Joe Latta
21. Dan Pryor
23. John Hardie
24. Josh Renton
25. Lima Sopoaga
26. Teihorangi Walden
27. Michael Collins
28. Ryan Tongia